About

RBHS Replacement Project

Rainier Beach High School Replacement Project

Construction on the new Rainier Beach High School is scheduled to begin Summer 2022.

SDAT

Rainier Beach High School students, staff, alumni and community partners have a long history of excellence. However, the accomplishments and achievements of the student body have not been reflected in or supported by the physical state of the building the school occupies.

Thanks to the 2019 Building Excellence V school levy and a tremendous amount of advocacy and commitment from the Rainier Beach High School community, the Rainier Beach High School building will be replaced with a new, state of the art facility, finally worthy of the community it supports.

Construction Updates

  • We have hired our General Contractor to construct our amazing new school. Lydig Construction was awarded the privilege of building our community gem.
  • We are finalizing schematic design for our amazing new school and would love your input regarding green building strategies for Rainier Beach High School.  It is our priority to create a culture of conservation and environmentally responsible behaviors by combining learning and sustainability.
  • We are committed to working with community-based companies and contractors. Please visit Build the Beach for Us by Us to find out more and to connect with us.

Background

SDAT

On December 8 and 15, 2020 the Rainier Beach High School design team held Integrated Design Workshops with the goal of establishing project priorities related to sustainable design strategies.

Participants included students and teachers participating in the School Design Advisory Team, Seattle Public Schools staff responsible for facilities and capital projects, and the architects and engineers working on the design of the new building. The workshops were held virtually using the Zoom platform.

Rainier Beach community has fought hard and long  to get our school on the BEX V Levy.

Below please find media links documenting RBHS advocacy for BEX inclusion from 2012-present.  Thank you and God Bless.

Please use available contact information below to get in touch with the SDAT team. We love to hear from our community!

Aminah Adams
RBHS Alum, Class of 2019

Naj Ali
RBHS Alum, Class of 2018

Michael Bethea
RBHS Boys Basketball Coach
msbethea@seattleschools.org

Geoff Bolan
RBHS Career and Technical Education Teacher
gmbolan@seattleschools.org

Gloria Briggs
RBHS PTSA President

Dwayne Chapelle
Former RBHS Principal
City of Seattle Dept. of Education and Early Learning Director

Winston Cole
RBHS Student

Kevin Curtis
RBHS Special Education Teacher
krcurtis@seattleschools.org

George Foster
RBHS Athletics Director
gefoster1@seattleschools.org

Thomas Foster
RBHS Student

Rhonda Goodrich
RBHS Parent/ PTSA/ Rainier Beach Neighbor

Frankco Gratton
RBHS Student

Brandon Hersey
Seattle School Board Director, District 7

Pam and Andrew Heyman
RBHS Parents/ PTSA /Rainier Beach Neighbors

Lanita Hill
RBHS Special Education Teacher
lohill@seattleschools.org

Marty Jackson
Community Partner, SE Network/Rainier Vista, Safe Passage

Miracle Jackson
RBHS Alum, Class of 2020

Aaron Jefferson
RBHS Ceramics Teacher
adjefferson@seattleschools.org

Gary Ladd
RBHS Security Specialist
galadd@seattleschools.org

Ron Little
RBHS Head Custodian
rllittle@seattleschools.org

Lyssa Lou
Community Partner/ Rainier Beach Neighbor

Robynn Mallory
RBHS Registrar
rabusch@seattleschools.org

Steven Miller
RBHS IB Coordinator/ Language Arts Teacher
smmiller@seattleschools.org

Sarah Moges
RBHS Librarian
sbmoges@seattleschools.org

Elizabeth Moore
RBHS Math Teacher
elmoore@seattleschools.org

Karla Nyquist
RBHS Science Teacher
knnyquist@seattleschools.org

Annie Patu
RBHS Assistant Principal
alpatu@seattleschools.org

Betty Patu
Retired Seattle School Board Director, District 7
aiomanubettypatu@gmail.com

Virginia Patu-Bethea
RBHS Family Support/ Community Co-Lead RBHS Onsite Replacement Team/ BEX Oversight
vowens@seattleschools.org

Sudee Phavong
RBHS Student

Sarah Pritchett
SPS Director of Schools
sjpritchett@seattleschools.org

Nicolas Ragland
RBHS Physical Education Teacher
niraglandjoh@seattleschools.org

Angelina Riley
RBHS Student

Kelly Rolon
RBHS Spanish Teacher
klrolon@seattleschools.org

Gian Rosario
RBHS Alum, Class of 2018

Connie So
Community Partner, Asian/Pacific Islander (OCA)

Deborah Stanley
RBHS Teen Health Center Coordinator (King County)
Deborah.Stanley@kingcounty.gov

Laura Stewart
RBHS Nurse Practitioner (King County)
Laura.Stewart@kingcounty.gov

Savali Taamu
RBHS Counselor
sptaamu@seattleschools.org

Angie Thomas
RBHS Activity Coordinator/ Community Co-Lead RBHS Onsite Replacement Team/ BEX Oversight
althomas1@seattleschools.org

LaNita Thomasson
RBHS Administrative Secretary
lthomasson@seattleschools.org

Autumn Tocchi
RBHS Science Teacher
altocchi@seattleschools.org

Evan Tomchick
RBHS IB History Teacher
eatomchick@seattleschools.org

Grace Wedgwood
RBHS Spanish Teacher
gmwedgwood@seattleschools.org

Patrick Yolian
RBHS Technology Support Specialist
payolian@seattleschools.org


Funding for the Project

SDAT

In the 2019 Building Excellence V (BEX V) levy, Seattle voters approved funding for the construction project which will replace Rainier Beach High School with a new multi-story high school of approximately 233,700 square feet.

When completed, it will provide permanent space for 1,600 students grades 9-12. The project also includes renovation of the existing Performing Arts Center. Students will remain onsite during the phased construction. BEX V funding will also provide technology equipment and services, such as computers, printers, and other technology for teaching and learning.

exercise

The Rainier Beach construction project is currently in the design development phase, in which the School Design Advisory Team (SDAT) collaborate with the architects to develop elements of the building that will support programming needs and the culture of the community.

The SDAT is composed of members of the school and community who help guide the design process by advising how the building design can align with the culture and educational needs Rainier Beach High School. This group works closely with the district’s project manager, and the architects for the project and will participate in a series of workshops and tours throughout the construction process.

Share Design Feedback

SDAT